Turning a Single Page Sketch Into a Double Page Layout

Hello! Samantha here with you. Today I’d like to walk you through turning a single page sketch into a double page layout. This is a really useful trick for when you have a sketch you really like, but have too many photos for a single page layout.

Supplies: The Great Outdoors Beneath the Stars, The Great Outdoors Into the Woods, The Great Outdoors Happy Camper, The Great Outdoors 3D Stickers, The Great Outdoors Cardstock Stickers, The Great Outdoors Planner Stickers, The Great Outdoors Hunting Adventures 3D Stickers, The Great Outdoors Epoxy Clips

Here’s the sketch I’ll be using today:

The first thing I like to do when working with a sketch is to pull my photos.

This is the point where I decided that I have enough photos that I need a 2 page layout instead of a single page layout. I laid my photos out into a left page and a right page. Since I am one photo short (on the right hand page), I’ll use the last photo space to ad a journaling tag instead.

 

For the left had page, I’ll follow the sketch, butiInstead of taking a single page and just creating it twice for a double page layout, I like to take the sketch and mirror it for the right hand page of the two page layout. Normally, I just do this in my head, but for the sake of this step-out I flipped the sketch so you can see what I mean in the photo above. I’ll be using the mirrored version on the right hand side of the layout.

Now that you know the basics of how your sketch will look on both the left and right hand sides, you can start building the base from your patterned paper. Again, you can see how the right hand page mirrors the sketch instead of being an exact replica.

Finish up the layout by adding your photos and embellishments.

Here you can see where I substituted a journaling sticker in place of a photo. You can also see that instead of putting a second title on my mirrored right hand page, I added a small cluster of embellishments. This keeps the feel of the layout cohesive without the clutter of 2 titles on one layout.

Turning a single page sketch into a double page layout is a great way to add flexibility to any sketch!
Save

Save

One thought on “Turning a Single Page Sketch Into a Double Page Layout

Leave a Reply

