Breathe

Do you have a friend headed out on a vacation?  Here’s a beach card for you to send their way.  I love the dreamy mood created in the beautiful photo from the new Mixed Card Pack by Paper House, and decided to use it as my focal point,and inspiration.

2016-07-20 14.48.17  beach card big pic

Supplies Used:

2016-07-20 14.47.49 beach card top

To make this I sprayed my dry watercolors with water, scribbled on some water soluble oil pastels on my craft mat, and made little puddles of paint of the blues, greens, and purples that I planned on using. I misted about half the paper, and applied a small amount of paint.  I misted again, and tilted the page in different directions to let the paint run, then again to soften any hard edges. I used a heat gun to dry it, then put on more layers in different colors. I also used metallic watercolors and watercolor pencils.  I took small amounts of teal liquid pearls and brushed them on all the edges of the paper, flowers, and on random spots on the glitter.

 2016-07-20 14.48.00  beach card bottom

You can see I flicked on paint all around. To create more texture I used glass glitter in clear and champagne,shells, bling, and sequins. The page got too busy, so I brushed on some white watercolor,and white acrylic paint. I rubbed on pearl mica power all over the card.

 The little girl is from a greeting card I cut up, and the great egret is from a photo I took locally. The flowers are watercolors over dry gesso, followed by clear glass glitter and pearl mica powder.

Thank you so much for looking, and have a great week!

Leave a Reply

