Happy Together

Hi everyone! Melissa here with a mixed media page for Paper House. I love the colors and details on the Discover paper, and just had to use it!

Here is a fun photo of my son and his girlfriend, I think they’re so cute together.

2016-05-02 17.06.31  big pic

Supplies Used:

2016-05-02 16.06.39  upper left

To make this page I used mod podge to glue the top piece of scrapbook paper to a piece of black cardstock, and glued on two more sheets of old scrapbook paper underneath.I did this so the paper wouldn’t warp from the materials I planned to apply.

 I dabbed on gesso with a cosmetic sponge,let it dry, then put a piece of cheesecloth on, and glued it on in a couple areas with glossy accents. I dipped a brush into gesso, mixed it with a little water on my craft sheet, and flung it on the paper.  I distressed all the edges of the pieces, layered the tags, and put a photo on top. I used foam core board and masking tape between layers, to give it some dimension, while attaching it to the page.

After I had the pieces on, I stenciled on some texture paste.  I made kind of wreath for Aron with dried pressed flowers,dried moss, gold and silver metal chain, rhinestones,feathers,and pearls.

I decided that my arrangement looked too busy with the tags under the top photo, so I brushed gesso on and added some colors. I painted with an aqua blue sparkly water color,and when dry,brushed on then gold mica powder with water. I put on lavender paint, and when dry, brushed on dry pearl colored mica powder.

 I took a piece of black tulle and covered the paper layers with it, I used masking tape  to draw the tulle tight onto the bottom of the layers. I glued some areas on with glossy accents, then cut all the tulle off that wasn’t right on the paper. I put more aqua blue paint on, then silver mica powder.I brushed on dry copper mica powder all over to pick up a color of the sunset. To complement the copper I brushed on turquoise Dylusions ink around the edges, and some on the layers too. The Dylusions made the page work, as it added some “punch”, or definition, to the design.

2016-05-02 16.06.47  upper right

You can see some Vintaj metal pieces, seed beads, and glass glitter. I added the adorable  butterflies at the top to kind of tie the page together.

2016-05-02 16.06.54  bottom right

2016-05-02 16.07.37  bottom left

What a gorgeous sunset!  Thank you for looking, and have a great day.

Leave a Reply

