Smiles – Mixed Media Layout

Hi everyone! Melissa here with my first design team post for Paper House. I was inspired by the stunning photography and colors of the papers I used especially the beautiful door you see below.

 I knew I wanted to make kind of a collage,so I cut some of the papers up. I painted a piece of paper with gesso and Twinkling H20s, and put my photo on top. Then I arranged the pieces around the photo, and using glossy accents, I glued pieces of foam core board under a few of the of images. I also sponged on gesso around the arrangement so the paper wouldn’t absorb the paint, and to make the beads and powders visible.

20160229_153127 (1)  main photo of Rich and nick

Smiles Supply List:

Now I will share some details on how I achieved this mixed media look: I applied crackle paste on the left edge and a few different areas, and let it dry overnight.  I also poured on a little crackle paint and let it dry somewhat.2016-02-29 15.22.16 upper left part of ph lo rich and nick

 I rubbed glossy accents around the images and poured gold and a little verdigris embossing  powders on. Some other materials I used included micro beads, seed beads, vintage glitter, sequins, and gold leaf. I painted the crackle with aqua Twinkling H2O’s, then rubbed on brown chalk, to make the cracks visible.

2016-02-29 15.22.25 upper right photo of rich and nick for ph

I used a Planets Puffy earth sticker with a metal arrow underneath it, to say that these two guys are my world.

2016-02-29 15.22.35 rich and nick bottom right

I rubbed on Vintaj patina to highlight the edges of the paper and also added on some beads. I also glued on some mica flakes.

2016-02-29 15.22.43  rich and nick bottom left

My last step was to brush on brown chalk on some of the paper edges.

Thanks for looking, and I hope you liked my page!

****************************************************************

Check out the products from this layout by clicking on the thumbnails below: Atlantis Trim Cards 12" Colorways Scrapbook Paper  Atlantis Cloudy Skies 12" Colorways Scrapbook Paper  Atlantis Mini Trim Cards 12" Colorways Scrapbook Paper

Leave a Reply

